hillaryvillagers’ Wishes for 2010

January 1, 2010

My deepest wish for 2010 is that others in our global world can open their hearts and minds to see that we are all related and there are no differences as we are all part of the body called the human race and moreover, we are love vibrations that are interconnected with all living matter on the planet and the cosmos itself. How do I know this is possible?  I witness it everyday in our village as we villagers,  inspired by Hillary Clinton, care for each other, pray for each other, respect each other, and hope that each day will be easier, more kind, simple and loving for each villager as we walk shoulder to shoulder through this seemingly tumultuous, changing world we live in today.  Let us radiate love.  God Bless everyone.  – Tanya

Every dawn is a new opportunity to renew, to learn, to make friends and enrich our life experience.  It is especially so on this dawn after a blue moon December.  2010 is a welcome year in which I hope the citizens take charge and do what is right for themselves. On the personal side, it is time to let go of the sadness that have dogged us for some time especially with people we love.  We love Hillary and some of us were angered by her doing the right thing by her own career, but we know now that her alternatives would have done her in forever, and the country really, really needed and needs her to be the SOS.  Many of us have things for which we have to forgive ourselves and liberate ourselves as well.  Here is a clip that I have visited many times this week… Hope you find it as comforting to the soul as I did.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3D4VMZb8wLY
Welcome 2010. Glad to be with you, friends. – Sanders

My wishes for the villagers as we start the New Year and decade are:
Special times with loved ones and friends
Weather to warm your heart and inspire adventures
Good health to allow happy living
Good health care to fix the aches and pains when they occur
Reliable internet connections to allow for village sharing and passion
Peace in the world.
Taylor

I have great hopes for 2010.  My wish is that our economy keeps getting stronger.  And I wish that the November 2010 elections succeed in our taking back our country.   Personally, I just want to stay well and happy. I wish good things for all our villagers… – Mary

Happy, Healthy New Year! May 2010 bring us countless joys and blessings.  And may God continue to bless our dear Hillary with health and happiness as she continues to work so diligently for our nation. I still believe –Madame President Hillary Clinton–someday soon–I still believe. – Scranton4hillary

I feel really blessed having villagers in my life and thank them for the privilege.  My fervent wish is to continue standing shoulder to shoulder with them in facing the many challenges in our lives with wisdom and compassion. – Normita

Politically, my wish is for a 2010 turnover on Capitol Hill. Personally, I would like a surgery-free year. May all of the villagers’ wishes come true. – Mary Jo

My wish for 2010 is that I am cognizant each day of what a difference little blessings make in my life.  That life isn’t really about things, but about people…sharing the joy of being alive and making the most of each new day.  Share the little blessings and life has greater significance…that shared smile, good morning greeting, holding a door…going out of our way for someone else…those good deeds that add bounce to our step and joy to our hearts and souls. The opportunity to make a difference in some small way is within our reach each and every day…we just need to reach out and make it happen!  Sharing life’s little blessings is my wish and my quest for 2010! – Karel

I wish everyone good health, wisdom and faith so that they deal can deal with whatever comes before them.  This is what I wish for. The rest falls into place. – Kathy

My wish for everyone at the Village (and to myself) is to resolve to try to find something to enjoy each day; do something to expand our minds–by reading, taking a class, watching an educational program, work a puzzle-anything to keep the mind sharp; truly respect people; disagree in an agreeable manner; and work for the betterment of ourselves and everyone with whom we come in contact.  God bless! – Steve

My wish for 2010 is that Women rise up, take back our power and our rightful standing in the world. That we can then live in a more gentle, kinder world. AND ONE THAT MAKES SENSE! – goandersen

72 thoughts on “hillaryvillagers’ Wishes for 2010

  1. What beautiful thoughts and wishes. Thank you.

    I had been struggling with a rogue anti-apyware tool called Personal Security which practically took control of my PC but my husband was able to remove it this morning. If you are ever infected, here is a link to help you. http://www.spywarevoid.com/remove-personal-security-personalsecurity-removal-help.html

    I need to get inspired to start the Christmas dismantling. The spirit hasn’t moved me yet. Maybe today.

    My husband’s 60th birthday is in late February. I may try to organize a 3-5 day adventure to Vegas to celebrate if I can find decent airfare.

    Enjoy this weekend and be careful in the snow CT and Tanya.

    • Taylor, this spyware got my computer at work and I was able to get our IT person to get it removed. Its nasty. Take your time with the decorations. I tend to take the down slowly.

      BBL…

  2. Here is one reason we need to still stay engaged in politics. Picked this up while surfing around.

    http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601087&sid=aHoYSI84VdL0

    Mayo Clinic in Arizona to Stop Treating Some Medicare Patients
    Share Business ExchangeTwitterFacebook| Email | Print | A A A

    By David Olmos

    Dec. 31 (Bloomberg) — The Mayo Clinic, praised by President Barack Obama as a national model for efficient health care, will stop accepting Medicare patients as of tomorrow at one of its primary-care clinics in Arizona, saying the U.S. government pays too little.

    More than 3,000 patients eligible for Medicare, the government’s largest health-insurance program, will be forced to pay cash if they want to continue seeing their doctors at a Mayo family clinic in Glendale, northwest of Phoenix, said Michael Yardley, a Mayo spokesman. The decision, which Yardley called a two-year pilot project, won’t affect other Mayo facilities in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota.

    See rest of article…

  3. Steve and goandersen sent their wishes this morning and they’re posted. Yes, may their wishes come true.

    There are two more days of snow in the village. I’m looking for a different scene now.

  4. Hello villagers – the New Years wishes are very touching.

    I have finished taking down my decorations, I am ready for a new year. Sunny today. It is time to think about spring cleaning, and I must get back into my garden to get it ready for a glorious spring.

    I want to buy a big area rug for my family room, but I don’t want one that you get with lots of patterns, more like a carpet-area rug. Where is the best place to go for these? Any ideas?

  5. Beautiful wishes from the villagers and I, too, wish they all come true.

    Taylor, our snow was very light and stopped now. I’ll be careful if I go out later.

    MaryPuma, we bought a wool crewel flower design 6 ft circular area rug at TJMAXX a few years ago. It is under our kitchen table in the dining area. You may want something larger. The rug is mostly beige with 4 rose colored roses placed upon it and a rose and white braided binding.

    JC Penney has area rugs in their catalog too as does The Pottery Barn.

    I’ll miss the snowflakes Normita. Maybe you can find a winter scene of woods or a frozen lake with snowflakes falling?

    • Tanya, there are so many design choices, but I think the snowflakes are only special during the holidays. I’ll keep looking. I changed the village site that with a woodsy look and am trying to find something that will compliment our blog.

    • Good morning – thanks Taylor and Tanya, I have started looking at some of these sites. Taylor I like the site you recommended, have started looking at it already. And Tanya I had not considered Pottery Barn. I will have to investigate that. Thanks all, I knew you guys would have some good ideas…

  6. Sanders, the video on Forgiveness is soothing, wise and beautiful. Thank you for sharing it with us. Where are you in the country? It is always interesting to know where the villagers write from and live. We have many in California and the rest of us are in the Mid-west or East.

  7. I thought this was an unique way to end and start the year:

    Identical Twins Born in 2 Separate Decades
    TAMPA, Fla. (Jan. 2) – Identical twin boys in Florida will get to celebrate their birthdays individually after they were born in separate decades.
    Margarita Velasco delivered the twins by cesarean section at Tampa General Hospital.
    Marcello was delivered just before midnight. His twin, Stephano, was delivered just as the new year began.
    Dr. Katherine Lynch performed an emergency cesarean section because one of the boys was not getting enough nutrition from the placenta.
    “They’ll always be twins, but now each will have their own special day,” Lynch said.

  8. Villagers, great conversations! I spent the day with my daughter to go to the city to return a sweater then she needed a few new clothes, then had a late lunch then met Bob to watch basketball Cal vs Stanford, always an exciting game.

    The news article about Mayo Clinic is very interesting to follow how those changes will move forward.

    I’ll ask Sanders where she’s from. I’ve known here for a while and know she’ll be always with us.

  9. Mary, I have been fortunate finding area rugs at Macy’s, lots of good selections plus great prices especially when there’s a rewards coupon. There is a specialty store which is my favorite, Ethan Allen, that carries great high quality area rugs, furniture and fixtures.

  10. Villagers, I found this theme that has all the normal components of what we are used to, except to comment you have to go to the top of the thread. Let me know what you think! I’ll keep searching….

  11. Normita, let us try this new format and we will comment after a day or so. Thanks for all the work you do to keep the site lively and inviting.

    It is COLD in the East. It is now 15 degrees which is the coldest it has been for a long time. No snow but the wind is howling.

    Thought you may find the following interesting. With the health care and terrorist attack, you may not have seen this.

    Bankers Get $4 Trillion Gift From Barney Frank: David Reilly
    http://bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601039&sid=a48c8UpUMxKQ

    Here are a couple paragraphs from the article
    — Since Congress isn’t cutting jobs, why not add a few more. The bill calls for more than a dozen agencies to create a position called “Director of Minority and Women Inclusion.” People in these new posts will be presidential appointees. I thought too-big-to-fail banks were the pressing issue. Turns out it’s diversity, and patronage.

    — Not that the House is entirely sure of what the issues are, at least judging by the two dozen or so studies the bill authorizes. About a quarter of them relate to credit-rating companies, an area in which the legislation falls short of meaningful change. Sadly, these studies don’t tackle tough questions like whether we should just do away with ratings altogether. Here’s a tip: Do the studies, then write the legislation.

    • Taylor, another road to big govt hoopla and overgrown bureaucracy. It’s just a payback as well as planting the seeds for the next election. Their mission is very transparent.

  12. I found this article about American Indians suffering from a brutal winter:

    American Indians Suffer From Brutal Winter…And As Usual…Ignored!
    Small Charity Struggles To Help Native Americans
    By Richard Boyden

    American Indians Suffer From Brutal Winter…And As Usual…Ignored

    Rumor has it that the Tribal Government of the Oglala Sioux Tribe is unable (for lack of fuel) to dig out tribal residents in rural areas. Hundreds of families and elders are without propane and of course, no monies for that either. Propane deliveries are impossible for those who have a way to pay because the roads are impassable.
    READ MORE…
    http://www.blackhillsportal.com/npps/story.cfm?id=3581

    They may not see another politician until election time.

    • I would love to be an observer when Sarah and Hillary finally have the chance to sit down and privately talk. Their styles and experiences are so different but they both strike me as women that would not let these differences stand in the way of useful dialogue.

      My hope for 2010 is that Hillary understand that her uniqueness and strength would only increase if she became more independent. I love when she speaks with the passion and brain power that are hers alone.

      The temps in MN during the night were minus 28 with a windchill of minus 40. We are only 16 in the DC area. MJ, I hope you are staying warm in Chicago and that CT and Tanya have good books to keep them indoors in Connecticut.

      • Good morning, Taylor. Today, I’ll begin my holiday decor put aways. It should take me a few days. Stay warm yourself. It’s bright and sunshiny here. Karel has a better way to do the weather so I’ll leave it at that!

  13. Good morning all! Cold one in CT but no where near the midwest! I like the format. Snowflakes are soothing when they are on a computer.

  14. Good morning, villagers. Happy First Sunday of 2010. Here’s an article I just recd from The Washington Post:

    News Alert
    07:00 AM EST Sunday, January 3, 2010

    National News: U.S. Embassy in Yemen closes over al-Qaeda threats

    The U.S. closed its embassy in Yemen Sunday, citing ongoing threats by the group linked to a foiled bomb attack on a Detroit-bound plane on Christmas.

    For more information, visit washingtonpost.com – http://link.email.washingtonpost.com/r/PSLW3N/LXIW2/Z08117/I3ST5U/LNIVC/T3/t

    Accdg to the article, “The embassy shutdowns were the latest indication of a growing confrontation between Western powers and the once little known al-Qaeda in Arabian Peninsula, who claimed responsibility for training and equipping Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab, the 23-year-old Nigerian who tried to blow up a Detroit-bound Northwest with chemical explosives sewn into his underwear. …”

    I remember during the elections of 08, we were demanding experience, knowledge, etc., and now we really need for him to step up.

  15. Well villagers I spent all day yesterday and I still have residual for today in cleaning my house. I always give it a good scrub after the holidays. That way when I get my new rug it will be all spiffy and shiny (LOL).

    I miss Terri, where is Terri?

    I heard this morning about the terrible weather in the midwest, ouch! -30 in Minnesota. And I heard about the howling wind in Virginia. I lved there in 2002 when there was a howling wind, and I had to get up and go to work. It was NOT pleasant. All you guys in this weather, stay inside, and stay warm.

    The story about the Indians suffering in the cold saddened me. For years I have wondered what we can do to help the tribes. Obama just gave them some money, but that will not solve the problem. What they need is a good future, good jobs, good education.

  16. In regards to terrorism, I wonder if Obama and the progressives now understand what has been happening under their protected peaceful existence for years — , that we are at war, that there are people out there who really do want to destroy our way of life,, that they want to replace our form of government, our beliefs with their beliefs, that they want our land for their children to populate.

    When are we going to wake up to the fact that throughout history humans have always fought over control, power, money, and land? Nothing has changed. We are NOT unique, contrary to what some would want to believe through their rose-colored glasses of living inside a safe US.

    What has happened to make our generation exempt from all this? Nothing.. The Islamic Jihadists want global domination. Why? You got me, but they are willing to do anything to get it. Sad, but true. We must be prepared to resist and prevail. I don’t know about you, but I like my way of life, and I want to keep it…

  17. Mary, the American Indians are in really sad state. It seems that they are the forgotten citizens in this land. The Bureau of Indian Affairs are not heard from these days.

    Tanya, what do you hear from your Lakota friends on this?

  18. I was listening to a program last night that was lamenting that the “global warming” discussion should be way down on the list of immediate problems that need to be solved such as infectious diseases, etc. And I would add the Native American conditions to this list. These are immediate problems that need to be solved and worked on immediately. And it takes more than throwing money at the problem.

    The Vikings are beating the Giants so my MN family will be happy.

    Villagers, there are people around us everyday that need an extra hand, smile or dollar. Be watchful,

    Normita, I heard that a volcano was threatening the Phillipines. What’s the status?

  19. Hello Dear Village Family,

    Wowo have i missed you and alot , i has to be rushed to the hospital the day before Christmas Eve! I got home yesterday and im ok now, im sorry i didnt have anyone to let you know what was going on. I missed Christmas and New Years while i was in the hospital Yuck. Im so glad 2009 is over and i pray this year will be so much better!
    But i wanted you all to know that im still alive and kicking.
    And i missed getting to share the Christmas and New Year with you, but i do love each and everyone of you!!

    I will try and catch up on all i missed in the post later, as im very weak right now but i just had to let you all know what is going on with me!

    Much love

    Teri

  20. Wow, Teri, rest and regain your strength. We were worried that you may have been ill. Now the first order of business is for you to take baby steps on your road to recovery. We are sending you buckets of positive thoughts and well wishes.

    Villagers, I just read this:

    http://www.commentarymagazine.com/blogs/index.php/rubin/209252
    Where Oh Where Is Hillary?
    Jennifer Rubin – 12.31.2009 – 3:35 PM
    Nile Gardiner at the Daily Telegraph writes: “The White House should send a search party to track down Hillary Clinton. America’s foreign policy chief has been missing from the world stage for several days, and has become as elusive as the Scarlet Pimpernel at the height of the French Revolution.”

    Come to think of it, we haven’t seen or heard from her since the Flight 253 bombing attack. Nada on the issue of the State Department’s own role in the security debacle that allowed the Christmas Day bomber to get onto the plane. (As Elliott Abrams noted, “His multiple-entry visa to the U.S. was not canceled by State, not even after his own father alerted U.S. Embassy officials in Nigeria of the danger he might present.”) And not a peep on Iran. The “Where in the World is the Secretary” locator (I am not making this up) on the State Department website puts her in the environs of Washington D.C.

    Maybe she is hiding at home, assuming, correctly, that anyone who shows up on camera (e.g., Janet Napolitano, the president) gets savaged. Maybe she is the fall-gal when we get the “how we messed up” report. (Prediction: It won’t say that treating terrorists like criminal defendants or releasing terrorists to Yemen is a problem.) Or perhaps she is studying up on the 2010 senate and gubernatorial races. There must be a race in some state she could run in and win, right? After all, she is the most admired woman in America (well, she’s in a statistical tie with Sarah Palin). She might not stay that way if she hangs out with the Obami much longer.

  21. Teri,

    I am glad that you are back. Stay well dear villager. I am sorry that you missed the holidays, but now concentrate and staying well.

  22. Teri, I was rounding up a search party for you! So glad you showed up. What tough holidays you’ve had or nothing at all. Well, I know have the village kids around you is always a holiday with colds, sneezes and temperatures. Do take care, we miss you!

  23. I found this article about Dems getting nervous about losing the MA seat, that will be so lovely if it happens.

    Jitters in Massachusetts — surely a Republican cannot win?
    By: David Freddoso
    Online Opinion Editor
    01/02/10 10:12 PM EST
    Marty Peretz of The New Republic fears that with an unpopular Democratic governor, fearful voters and guaranteed low turnout, Republican Scott Brown has a serious chance of winning the Jan. 19 special election for departed Sen. Ted Kennedy’s seat. He wrote on Thursday:

    Brown compares himself to John Kennedy in a just-released television spot. Well, the Dems have gone hysterical. This is a sign of their (incipient) panic. Maybe their panic is apt.

    It strikes me that this is highly unlikely — there just aren’t enough Republicans in Massachusetts, which doesn’t have a single Republican congressman. But can you even imagine what the reaction would be like if Republicans took this seat?
    http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/opinion/blogs/beltway-confidential/Jitters-in-Massachusetts–surely-a-Republican-cannot-win-80517267.html

  24. This appeared in the Washington Examiner today. I am curious that Brennan thinks the Gitmo is an al Queda propraganda tool. I think that 9/11, Ft. Hood and the Detroit attempt are the propraganda tools.

    White House: Justice Dept. made decision to hold Detroit bomber in civilian justice system
    By: Byron York
    Chief Political Correspondent
    01/03/10 9:43 AM EST
    Top Obama counterterrorism adviser John Brennan says the Justice Department made the decision to handle the case of Detroit terror bomb suspect Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab in the criminal justice system.

    Appearing on “Fox News Sunday,” Brennan was asked why the Obama administration did not choose to treat Abdulmutallab as an enemy combatant. “He was arrested on U.S. soil,” Brennan answered. “The Department of Justice makes that determination about what is the best tool to use.”

    Pressed about reports Abdulmutallab stopped talking to investigators after he was given a lawyer and read his Miranda rights, Brennan said, “We have an array of tools that we will use” in the case. “[Abdulmutallab] was in fact talking to people who were detaining him…Just because somebody is going to be put into the criminal legal process doesn’t mean we don’t have other opportunities to get information from him.”

    Brennan conceded that Abdulmutallab “doesn’t have to” give any information to FBI interrogators. But he said the administration still has some leverage over him. “He knows that there are certain things that are on the table, and if he wants to engage with us in a productive manner, there are ways that he can do that,” Brennan said. He did not elaborate on what those things “on the table” are, although he appeared to be suggesting that Abdulmutallab could cooperate in return for more lenient treatment than he would otherwiest receive.

    Brennan pointed out that there were a number of terrorism suspects captured during the Bush administration — Richard Reid, Zacarias Moussaoui, Jose Padilla — who were tried in the criminal justice system.

    Brennan also said the Obama administration will continue to send Guantanamo detainees to Yemen. “Absolutely,” he said. “We’re going to be working closely with the Yemeni government.” Brennan added: “Guantanamo must be closed…It has served as a propaganda tool for al Qaeda.”

    Finally, Brennan explained the Obama administration’s decision to close the U.S. embassy in Yemen. There have been rising threats against the embassy, Brennan said, and the administration wants to “make sure we’re doing everything possible to protect our diplomats there.”

    • It’s beyond reason why they will be sending the Gitmo prisoners to Yemen, the root of a third conflict. They will close it just to say that they keep their campaign promise without considering the present and possible scenarios. These people need to go!

      • When do we get these yoyos out of office… NOW… How do we do it, I will help any way I can…

      • It is not safe to have our embassy open but it is safe to send the prisioners back. Even I can see that this reasoning is flawed.

  25. Teri — Teri — Teri — so sorry you were in the hospital and so sick for the holidays, I feel for you so much… But you are home now, and getting better I hope. I missed your comments about what you and the family have been up to, they always make me laugh. I got your Christmas card, and I loved it…

    Especially for you now once again MERRY CHRISTMAS and HAPPY NEW YEAR…. Did you get to open your Christmas presents?

  26. I ordered an area rug today from the website that Taylor suggested. Thank you Taylor and others for your suggestions. I can hardly wait, it will be shipped one week from today…

    • Mary, I hope it works out and you are happy. There are three catalogs I always keep but have only ordered a few things from each: Home Decorating, Country Curtains, and Pottery Barn.

      • Mary, take a photo of your area and send it to me. I need to replace a 30-year old area rug in the dining room.

      • Okay – this one is more informal, for the family room. I like it because it has bears on it. I love bears!! It is supposed to be for a mountain home, but I don’t care, I liked it. I am also shopping for a more classic one for the dining room. I found one, same place, gorgeous, but we noticed that Home Decorating is affiliated with Home Depot, so we will go locally to see if they have it in stock. This one is much more expensive than the first one, so I am being super careful. I will take a picture of whatever I get..

  27. Villagers, I put two image widgets on the right side showing photos from our village gallery. Enjoy! I’m learning some new stuff as I go along.

  28. Good night, villagers. We are blessed to see that Teri is back.

    Happy New Year roll call: Teri and the village kids, Taylor, Mary, Karel, CT, Mary Jo, Robin, Tanya, goandersen, Annette, Ann & Jackie, Steve, Maria, Sanders, Zoe, Bob and Lanz, Amy, still4hill, Billie Jo, latina, Alex, Ebinger, Anna, SantaFeK, madampresident, Arctic, Hillary, Chelsea, Bill and Ms. Dorothy, villagers here and everywhere.

    God bless everyone.

  29. I wrote my first check for 2010. Don’t forget to use the correct year.

    Going to the movies to see It’s Complicated. Will share my opinion when I return. BBL

  30. Good morning, villagers. Going for a walk with Lanz. Don’t forget to view the widgets on the upper right side. Let me know what you think.

    Tanya and CT, the snowflakes will disappear today, so look outside your window to see more. Have a nice day!

  31. Looks like bad weather still for the East, everybody be careful out there driving around in that stuff… Working in my garden today. Anyone notice that Southern Calfornia is the ONLY place in the US today with good weather?

  32. The fire alarm went off in the middle of our movie so we don’t know if Alex Baldwin or Steve Martin end up with Meryl…or she may have decided to stay unattached. We got passes so we can return. We did not see any smoke or fire but everyone took the alarm seriously.

    The widgets are good Normita. I thought I liked Hillary in red the best but I think pink is definitely her color.

    The quote of the day was a good one today. The last two were bizarre but this is a good one:

    A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in its vicinity freshen into smiles.
    Washington Irving

    • Taylor, sorry about the interruption but at least you get a free pass to return. At least it could be a false alarm.

    • Taylor, I was so excited (like a grade schooler who solved her arithmetic problem) last night when I was able to figure out how to make those widgets work, that it didn’t matter what color pantsuit she was wearing! LOL

  33. Hi Villagers!

    My best wishes for all of you.May we all feel the presence of God in our lives, and we could receive the gift of FAITH in our hearts.Health, jobs and happiness to all of you guys, and wisdom to our beatiful SOS. Thank you Normita for keeping this site alive as our admiration for Hillary will be always there.
    The best to all of you.
    VEYRY

    • Veyry, Happy New Year! Glad you came. This place will remain open for all the villagers who travelled from north, east, south and west in 2008. We’re standing by to make sure our village chief remains safe.

  34. I don’t know why the WH and their honchos at NBC will claim that our economy is on the way up. How can they possibly balance their claims against the 2009 bankruptcy stats.

    AP: 2009 bankruptcies total 1.4 million, up 32 pct

    RALEIGH, N.C. – U.S. consumers and businesses are filing for bankruptcy at a pace that made 2009 the seventh-worst year on record, with more than 1.4 million petitions submitted, an Associated Press tally showed Monday.

    The AP gathered data from the nation’s 90 bankruptcy districts and found 1.43 million filings, an increase of 32 percent from 2008. There were 116,000 recorded bankruptcies in December, up 22 percent from the same month a year before.
    READ FULL ARTICLE:
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100104/ap_on_bi_ge/us_bankruptcy_boom

  35. Mary, going back to your area rug, I have bought a couple of small area rugs at Home Depot and they are good quality. I may go to our local store to check one for our dining room.

  36. Northrop Grumman moving HQ to Washington D.C. by 2011
    Major defense contractor Northrop Grumman said it plans to move its headquarters from Los Angeles to the Washington D.C. area by 2011.

    The company is looking for a site in the region and plans to identify one by spring 2010.

    This doesn’t mean a lot of new jobs for the region — the company plans on moving about 300 people of the 120,000 who work worldwide for Northrop — but it is a big catch for the region and a tough image blow, at least in prestige, for the battered California economy.

    “As a global security company with a large customer base in the Washington, D.C. region, this move will enable us to better serve our nation and customers,” Northrop chief executive Wes Bush said a statement.

    Northrop is the father of the proposed KC-45 tanker, the inflight refueling aircraft that was the subject of a big fight with rival Boeing.

    — Frank Ahrens
    http://voices.washingtonpost.com/economy-watch/2010/01/northrop_grumman_moving_hq_to.html?wpisrc=newsletter

    I’m sorry to see them move their hqtr away from CA but it makes sense in terms of their global security business to be close to their base. Northrop was a good customer of mine.

  37. it is 30 degrees warmer in Greenland thank in MN and IA. So much for global warming this year.

    I’m off to read my first book on my Kindle. It was easy to download. BBL

Leave a Reply

